Monthly Archives: September, 2017

Inspiring visitors

At St Peter’s this week we were lucky enough to host special guests who brought new experiences to our pupils.  On Tuesday, a touring theatre company performed the musical ‘Oliver!’ for our Year 2 and 3 classes.  The company of just 4 performers used sound, light, creative staging and a huge amount of energy to bring the classic Dickens tale to life.  Then on Wednesday and Thursday we had a visit from Miss Gemma Carden, who works as a fundraiser for Rowans Hospice.  Speaking to children in Key Stage 1 on Wednesday, then Key Stage 2 on Thursday, Gemma gave a sensitive presentation on the work that the hospice does for those with life-limited conditions.  The children were in awe of the care and facilities that the hospice provides, and amazed that it costs £5.8 million a year to run.  Gemma encouraged the children to think about taking part in the Rowans’ fundraising walk over October half term as a way of giving their help to those in need within our local area.  Details can be found here: https://www.rowanshospice.co.uk/events/childrens-starlit-walk-2017/

Mr R Cunningham

Headteacher

Back to school

Welcome back to St Peter’s for the 2017/2018 school year, and an especially warm welcome to all those pupils who will be joining the St Peter’s community this month.  I hope that the summer break provided everyone with a chance to relax, spend time with family and friends, and generally recharge batteries ready for another busy term.

It is fair to say that the pupils have provided the sole ray of sunshine this week, as autumn seems to have arrived early this year.  It was wonderful to see the pupils from Years 1 to 6 gathered together for worship on Tuesday morning, and the school is ready to begin the induction process for the new Year R children from Monday 11th September.

All of the pupils have had homework diaries issued this week.  Please take 15 minutes to sit down with your child to look at the information in the front few and final few pages, which includes information about our Catholic tradition, a reminder of the 6Cs, a copy of the times tables and the school term dates on the back cover.

As a reminder, the school term dates for this year are posted below.

Mr R Cunningham

Headteacher

 

St Peter’s Catholic Primary School  Term dates 2017 – 2018

Autumn Term  Friday 1st September 2017 to Thursday 21st December 2017

Half term holiday Monday 23rd October to Friday 27th October

Inset days this term (school closed to pupils): Friday 1st September 2017, Monday 4th September 2017, Friday 22nd September 2017, Thursday 21st December 2017

Spring term  Thursday 4th January 2018 to Thursday 29th March 2018

Half term holiday Monday 12th February to Friday 16th February 2018

 Summer Term  Monday 16th April 2018 to Friday 20th July 2018

Half term holiday Monday 28 May to Friday 1st June 2018

Inset day this term (school closed to pupils): Friday 20th July 2018

Please note: Bank Holiday school closures

Friday 30th March 2018 (Good Friday)

Monday 7th May 2018 (Early May Bank Holiday)